LGBTQ 30 Day Challenge: Day 25

11 07 2011

Day 25: The LGBT slur you hate the most?

“Fag.” Unquestionably. I can’t STAND that word. It irks me to no end when I hear it. I heard it used so derogatorily as a kid so often, that it literally makes my skin crawl. I tried at one point to “take it back” and use it, but I just couldn’t do it for long. It’s just so hurtful to me for some reason. It definitely doesn’t bother me like it did when I was a kid, but I still just don’t like it.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 07 2011
Teresa Jean

I get the fag slur on rare occasions. While I’ve never been called this I think the worst for me is tranny. But then I”m a transsexual so I hope that makes sense.

12 07 2011
polarbear1986

That one bugs me, too. It didn’t used to, but the older I get the more it seems to. And I think it depends on context. If a friend called me a fag, I wouldn’t like it, but I wouldn’t flip out about it. That said, I saw a loose friend use the word “tranny” on Twitter and instantly shuddered. Part of me feels like they’re just words and we should all let it go, but then part of me thinks that if they’re just words, why can’t people stop using them?

Leave a Reply

