Moe’s v. Chipotle

14 12 2010

A Chipotle Mexican Grill just opened up today on The Strip here in Knoxville…right across from Moe’s Southwest Grill. I had never eaten at a Chipotle before as we don’t have one in Memphis that I’m aware of, but people I’ve known from Nashville have raved about the place So, I decided to stop in today and try it out. Upon first glance, it reminds me a lot of Swanky’s Taco Shop, a favorite of a close friend of mine from home. It has a very industrial feel and that generic international music to match. The menus are done in a very minimalist way that fits the environment, but somehow still look a bit odd.

I decided I’d get a burrito, something I’m very familiar with from Moe’s. They started with some white rice, with what I think was some cilantro and then my choice of pinto or black beans; I went with black. But, unlike Moe’s, tofu didn’t seem to be an option, so I got the chicken. There were also some freshly grilled veggies, so I got some of those. They added pico de gallo, sour cream, and cheese, and from there I asked for some guacamole. It was a bit expensive, but I could see them making it fresh in the back, so I thought I’d go for it.

I started eating the tortilla chips and was left wanting. They’re plain, out-of-a-bag tortilla chips. And the salsa that came with them was bland to say the least. But I’m not here for the chips. On to the burrito.

I took my first bite and it was amazing. The chicken had the best flavor and wasn’t the least bit dry. The guacamole was so creamy, I couldn’t have asked for more. And the fresh grilled vegetables did nothing but enhance. Overall, it was truly delicious. But it was a good $4+ more than Moe’s. I’ve decided that I’m going to go to Moe’s tomorrow and compare the two while it’s fresh in my mind. More details tomorrow!

Actions

Information

One response

29 04 2011
Moe’s v. Chipotle pt. 2 « The Ramblings of an ADHD Gemini

[…] a comment I went to Moe’s Southwest Grill today to complete my comparison of the new Chipotle Mexican Grill that opened across the street. I tried to get as close to the […]

Leave a Reply

